--> Skip to main content

12 Exhortations Of Vedanta – Swami Adiswarananda

The 12 Exhortations Of Vedanta are from the book titled  'The Vedanta Way to Peace and Happiness' written by Swami Adiswarananda

Sasivekalu Ganesha at Hampi - It is said that the stomach of Ganesha here resembles the shape of a mustard seed and hence the name as sasivekalu means mustard seed.

  1. If you want happiness, reduce your dependencies.
  2. If you want joy, reduce your desires.
  3. If you want peace, reduce your ego.
  4. If you want security, keep the instincts of sex and palate under control.
  5. If you hope for the best, be prepared for the worst.
  6. Face the fact that there is no life without suffering.
  7. Face the problems by overcoming them.
  8. Face the changes of life by falling back on the changeless.
  9. Face death by knowing the deathless in yourself; face the uncertainties of life by making them a part of your life.
  10. Face the past by acting on the living present.
  11. Face the nightmares by waking up.
  12. Face the sufferings by developing immunity against them.
Swami Adiswarananda
(Source : The Vedanta Way to Peace and Happiness, p.47-48)