--> Skip to main content

Pancha Upanishad – A Set of Five Upanishads in Hinduism

The term pancha Upanishad indicates a set of five Upanishads. These five Upanishads indicate the supremacy of Narayana.

The five Upanishads are:
  1. Ishavasya
  2. Narayana
  3. Aitareya
  4. Taittiriya
  5. Mahanarayana

The important points about the supremacy of Narayana are:
  • Absence of bad qualities
  • Sri’s consort
  • The sole cause of the universe
  • Treasure house of everything
  • Representing all knowledge and bliss
  • The very source of all good attributes
  • Endowed with special qualities of the two genders
Ishavasya Upanishad states that everything is pervaded by God and nothing is separate from That. Do all work dedicated to god to escape from suffering and endless cycle of birth and death.

Narayana Upanishad states that Narayana desired to create the world. Everything born is his swarupa.

Aitareya Upanishad states that the entire world is held by Paramatma, the Supreme Being, and He is the refuge of all. This knowledge leads one to eternity.

Taittiriya Upanishad states about the relationship of various beings and finally how they are all part of the single thread which derives energy from Narayana.

Mahanarayana Upanishad extols devotees to visualize the cosmic order and turn the mind inward. The cosmic order is in all living and nonliving.