--> Skip to main content

Two Important Divisions of Scriptures in Hinduism

The two important divisions of scriptures in Hinduism are Shruti and Smriti.

  • Shruti comprises of those scriptures that are divine revelations. 
  • They are the most authoritative texts.
  • They are composed in Sanskrit.
  • Transmitted orally from one generation to another.
  • No additions, deletions or amendments are made to the text.
Shruti includes:
  • Vedas  (Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda)
  • Brahmanas (treaties on ritual)
  • Aranyakas
  • Upanishads
  • Smriti texts explain and expand on the ideas in the Shruti texts.
  • The texts are attributed to different authors.
  • Transmitted orally and through writing.
  • They are composed in Sanskrit and regional languages.
  • Open to interpretation, addition, expansion and deletion.
Smriti includes
  • Vedangas
  • Mahabharata
  • Ramayana
  • Puranas
  • Dharma Shastras
  • Sutras and
  • Bhashyas