--> Skip to main content

Square Symbol in Hinduism

Geometric symbols are an important part of Hinduism. They represent creation, union, male and female principle etc. Square is also an important symbols. It represents earth. Two squares one within the other, symbolize heaven and earth together.

Square can be found in various yantras and chakras.

It is also an important element in tantric puja and worship.

The sanctum sanctorum, which houses the main deity in a temple, is a square.

In Tantric concept, the four corners of the square depict the four elements that surround and protect. They are Prithvi (earth), Agni (Fire), Varuna (water) and Vayu (wind).

In Tantric Puja, square is drawn inside a circle and a triangle. 

Square outer perimeter represents male. 

The outer coverings of Mahavidya Yantras are squares.

Fire pits or Havan Kunds are square. They are at least 9 inch, 18 inch or 27 inch square.

Square contains two vertical and two horizontal lines. The horizontal lines represent stability. Vertical lines represent activity. Thus the square is both inward and outward looking. Both materialistic and spiritual. Through a square havan ritual you can wish for moksha or fulfillment of desire.

Symbols and drawings in a square are considered to be highly effective. This is because square does not attract attention like a circle or triangle. It remains neutral.