--> Skip to main content

Adhyayana Utsavam

Adhyayana Utsavam, also known as Vaikunta Utsava or Prasanna Utsava or Moksha Utsava, is observed in the famous Tirupati Venkateswara Temple and Srirangam Ranganatha Swamy Temple. It is the day when Sri Nammalwar merged with Srihari Vishnu. The Divya Prabhandas are chanted during the period.

It begins on the first day of the waxing phase of moon in Dhanur Masam and ends on the following Krishna Paksha Dasami – 10th day during the waning phase of moon. It is chanted for nearly 22 days.

It coincides with the famous Vaikunta Ekadasi festival.

Divya Prabandhas are the recitals composed in Tamil dedicated to Lord Vishnu. It contains 4000 verses. All the important Vishnu temples chant the Divya Prabandhas. The place where it is recited is treated as Divya Desams.

Divya Prabandhas are divided into 4 parts as
  • Mudhal Ayiram,
  • Periya Thirumozhi,
  • Iyarpa
  • Thiruvaaymozhi
The first 2000 verses are chanted before Vaikunta Ekadasi and the next 2000 verses are chanted after the Vaikunta Ekadasi.

The popular belief is that Nammalwar arrives on earth during the Adhyayana Utsavam. The verses are chanted with his blessings, and he remains on earth for 22 days, and returns back after the Utsavam.