--> Skip to main content

Weapons Held By Durga in Her Ten Arms

Durga with 10-arms is a very popular form of Goddess Durga. This form is widely seen during Durga Puja and Navratri. Here is a list of 10 weapons held by Durga in her 10 arms.

  1. Trident
  2. Discus
  3. Scimitar (Kharga)
  4. Snake
  5. Conch
  6. Mace
  7. Bow/arrow
  8. Hook
  9. Lotus
  10. Thunderbolt
The overall image of Goddess Durga annihilating demon Mahishasura does not change. But sometimes instead of a human head, the demon is depicted as having a buffalo head.

Majority of times two hands of Goddess Durga will be in blessing posture. Then two weapons are not depicted.

It must be noted that there is no rule regarding the number of arms. It depends on the artist who is making the murti. The hands are in even in numbers.

Earlier on the same topic