Skip to main content

Navratri Colours 2017 With Date – 9 Dress Colors To Wear During Nine Days Of Navratri 2017

During the nine days of Navratri there is a custom of wearing 9 different colour dress – Sarees (Sari) and Churidhar – mainly in Gujarat and Maharashtra. Information on what are the Navratri colours 2017 (September - October) usually appears a couple of days before in local Gujarati and Marathi newspapers. This is the latest information regarding the nine colors of Navratri in 2017 with date. The colors are not followed during Chaitra Navratri (March - April).

The nine Navratri colors for 2017 are:

Pratipada - September 21, 2017 (Thursday) - Yellow 
Dwitiya - September 22, 2017 (Friday) - Green 
Tritiya - September 23, 2017 (Saturday) - Grey 
Chaturthi - September 24, 2017 (Sunday) - Orange  
Panchami - September 25, 2017  (Monday) - White 
Sashti - September 26, 2017 (Tuesday) - Red  
Saptami  - September 27, 2017 (Wednesday) - Blue (Navy Blue) 
Ashtami - September 28, 2017  (Thursday)  -  Pink
Navami - September 29, 2017  (Friday)   - Purple
Dasami - September 30, 2017  (Saturday)   - Peacock Green 

Spiritual Significance and Importance of the Nine Navratri Colours
The nine colors symbolically represent the nine forms of Goddess Durga that are worshipped during Navratri. Traditionally the colors change from year to year. In some regions the form of the Goddess worshipped and name varies from region to region on nine days. Women, girls and children wear the particular color of dress (like Saris (Saree), churidhar) on each day of Navratri.

Amba, Tara, Shorashi, Bhuvneshwari, Chinnamasta, Bhairavi, Dhoomavati, Bagala, and Matangi are forms of Durga worshipped in Gujarat during the nine days of Navratri.

Amba, Chamunda, Ashtamukhi, Bhuvaneshwari, Upang Lalita, Maha Kali, Jagdamba, Narayani and Renuka are forms of Durga worshipped in Maharashtra and neighboring regions.

The colors and respective Goddess - Please note this has nothing to do with deciding the color

Parrot Green – Goddess worshipped is Amba.
Orange – Goddess Tara in some regions, Chamunda in other places.
Yellow – Goddess Shorashi or Ashtamukhi
Sky Blue – Goddess Bhuvneshwari
Pink – Goddess Chinnamasta or Upang Lalita
Grey – Goddess Bhairavi or Maha Kali
Green – Goddess Dhoomavati or Jagdamba
Ink Blue – Goddess Bagala or Narayani
Royal Blue – Goddess Matangi or Renuka

Red – Goddess worshipped is Kamala or Durga 

The nine Navratri colors are Red, Orange, Yellow, Sky Blue, Pink, Grey, Green, purple and Royal blue. (Also Parrot green, white, peacock green etc are found in some years)