Skip to main content

Navratri Colours 2019 With Date – 9 Dress Colors To Wear During Nine Days Of Navratri 2019

During the nine days of Navratri there is a custom of wearing 9 different colour dress – Sarees (Saree) and Churidar – mainly in Gujarat and Maharashtra. Information on what are the Navratri colours 2019 (September - October) usually appears a couple of days before in local Gujarati and Marathi newspapers. This is the latest information regarding the nine colors of Navratri in 2019 with date. The colors are not followed during Chaitra Navratri (March - April).

The nine Navratri colors for 2019 are:

Pratipada - September 29, 2019 (Sunday) - Orange

Dwitiya - September 30, 2019 (Monday) - White  
Tritiya - October 1, 2019 (Tuesday) -  Red  
Chaturthi - October 2, 2019 (Wednesday) - Blue (Navy Blue) 
Panchami - October 3 (Thursday) Yellow 
Sashti - October 4 (Friday) (white) Green 
Saptami - October 5 (Saturday) - Grey  
Ashtami - October 6 (Sunday) - Purple
Navami - October 7, 2019  (Monday) - Peacock Green

9 Dress Colors To Wear During Nine Days Of Navratri 2019

Spiritual Significance and Importance of the Nine Navratri Colours

The nine colors symbolically represent the nine forms of Goddess Durga that are worshipped during Navratri. Traditionally the colors change from year to year. In some regions the form of the Goddess worshipped and name varies from region to region on nine days. Women, girls and children wear the particular color of dress (like Saris (Saree), churidar) on each day of Navratri.

Amba, Tara, Shorashi, Bhuvneshwari, Chinnamasta, Bhairavi, Dhoomavati, Bagala, and Matangi are forms of Durga worshipped in Gujarat during the nine days of Navratri.

Amba, Chamunda, Ashtamukhi, Bhuvaneshwari, Upang Lalita, Maha Kali, Jagdamba, Narayani and Renuka are forms of Durga worshipped in Maharashtra and neighboring regions.

The colors and respective Goddess

Parrot Green – Goddess worshipped is Amba.
Orange – Goddess Tara in some regions, Chamunda in other places.
Yellow – Goddess Shodashi or Ashtamukhi
Sky Blue – Goddess Bhuvaneshwari
Pink – Goddess Chinnamasta or Upang Lalita
Grey – Goddess Bhairavi or Maha Kali
Green – Goddess Dhumavati or Jagdamba
Ink Blue – Goddess Bagala or Narayani
Royal Blue – Goddess Matangi or Renuka
Red – Goddess worshipped is Kamala or Durga

(Please note this has nothing to do with deciding the color.)

The nine Navratri colors are Red, Orange, Yellow, Sky Blue, Pink, Grey, Green, purple and Royal blue. (Also Parrot green, white, peacock green etc are found in some years)