--> Skip to main content

Ashtakavarga in Hindu Astrology

In Hindu astrology, Ashtakavarga is a sophisticated and unique system that involves the analysis of eight key astrological factors. These factors are the seven planets (excluding the nodes Rahu and Ketu) and the ascendant (lagna). The term "Ashtakavarga" literally translates to "a group of eight," reflecting the inclusion of these eight elements in the analysis.

Concept and Function

Ashtakavarga primarily deals with the transit of planets and their effects on an individual's life. In this system, each planet is analyzed for its position and influence by assigning benefic points, known as bindus, to various houses in the horoscope. These bindus are indicators of auspiciousness and are used to determine the potential outcomes and influences during planetary transits.

Calculation of Bindus

The calculation of bindus in Ashtakavarga involves assessing the relative positions of planets from each other as well as from the ascendant. Each planet contributes a certain number of bindus to different houses based on its placement. These contributions are tabulated into charts called Ashtakavarga charts, which provide a visual representation of the planetary influences.

  1. Planetary Transits: Ashtakavarga emphasizes the importance of planetary transits. The movement of planets through different houses and their interaction with natal planets and the ascendant is meticulously studied. The number of bindus a planet receives in a particular house can indicate how favorable or unfavorable that transit will be.

  2. Individual Analysis: Unlike some systems that only consider the Moon's position, Ashtakavarga evaluates the transiting planets' positions from multiple vantage points, including the natal positions of all planets and the ascendant. This comprehensive approach allows for a more detailed and nuanced prediction.

Significance of the Ascendant (Lagna)

The ascendant, or lagna, is the zodiac sign rising on the eastern horizon at the time of birth. In Ashtakavarga, the lagna plays a crucial role in shaping an individual's life and experiences. The system not only looks at planetary influences from the natal Moon but also considers the lagna's position and how transiting planets interact with it.

Integration of Astrology and Numerology

Ashtakavarga is unique in that it integrates both astrological and numerological factors. The numerical value of bindus assigned to each house can be analyzed numerologically to provide further insights into the planetary influences. This blend of astrology and numerology makes Ashtakavarga a powerful tool for prediction and guidance.

Applications of Ashtakavarga

  1. Predictive Astrology: Ashtakavarga is widely used to make predictions about various aspects of life, including health, wealth, career, and relationships. By analyzing the bindus in each house, astrologers can provide detailed forecasts and advice.

  2. Muhurta (Auspicious Timing): This system is also employed to find auspicious times for important activities and events. The strength of bindus in relevant houses can help determine the most favorable times for starting new ventures, getting married, or undertaking significant journeys.

  3. Remedial Measures: Based on the Ashtakavarga analysis, astrologers can suggest specific remedies to mitigate unfavorable planetary influences. These may include wearing gemstones, performing specific rituals, or chanting particular mantras.

In summary, Ashtakavarga is a comprehensive system in Hindu astrology that combines the detailed study of planetary transits with both astrological and numerological insights. Its unique approach of evaluating the positions of transiting planets from multiple reference points, including the ascendant, allows for precise and in-depth astrological predictions.