Skip to main content

Asta Sambhu Temples in Bargarh in Odisha – Ashta Shambhu or Eight Shiva Temples in Odisha

Asta Sambhu, or Ashta Shambhu, is the collective name given to eight important Shiva temples in Bargarh District in Odisha. The concept of Ashta Shambhu is famous in Orissa. Two of the these temples are today located in Sambalpur.

The eight Asta Sambhu Temples are:

Bimaleswar Temple at Huma in Sambalpur
Kedarnath Temple at Ambabhona in Bargarh
Baidyanath Temple at Deogaon in Bargarh
Balunkeswar Temple at Gaisama in Bargarh
Mandhata Baba Temple at Maneswar in Sambalpur
Swapneswar Temple at Sorna in Bargarh
Visweswar Temple at Soranda in Bargarh
Nilakantheswar Temple at Nilji in Bargarh

Visiting the eight temples is the above sequence is considered highly meritorious. People also visit all the eight as part of getting their desires fulfilled.