--> Skip to main content

Pancharama Kshetras in Andhra Pradesh – The concept of Five Shiva Temples

Pancharama Kshetras are the concept of five Shiva temples in Andhra Pradesh. The five temples are:
  1. Bhimeshwara Temple at Draksharama in East Godavari
  2. Bhimeshwara Temple at Samalakota Bhimavaram in East Godavari
  3. Someshwara Temple at Gunupudi Bhimavaram in West Godavari
  4. Ramalingeshwara Temple at Palakollu in West Godavari
  5. Amareshwara Temple at Amaravati in Guntur District
These temples were built by Eastern Chalukya king Bhima I (892 – 921 AD)

Story of Pancharama Kshetras
The five Shivlings worshipped in the five temples were part of a single Shivling. It was worshipped by demon Tarakasura. Kartik or Muruga, son of Shiva, was born to annihilate demon Tarakasura. But he could not kill the demon as his body came back to the original state even after getting cut down by arrows.

Katikeya was then told that the demon got the power due to the Shivling he worshipped.

So Kartikeya broke the Shivling into five pieces with Agneyastra.

Surya, the sun god, then installed the five Shivlings in five places. These five places are known as Pancharama Kshetras.

Having darshan of the five Shivlings are considered highly meritorious.