--> Skip to main content

Navadha Bhakti as Mentioned in the Srimad Bhagavatam - Nine Forms Of Devotion

Navadha Bhakti is the nine forms of devotion explained by Prahlada in the Srimad Bhagavatam. Here are the nine ways:
  1. Fellowship with Saints
  2. Fondness for the Lord’s Divine Stories
  3. Service of Guru’s Feet without Conceit
  4. Singing Lord’s Virtues Innocently
  5. Mantra Japa with Unflinching Faith
  6. Sense control and Attendant Characteristics
  7. Experiencing the World Equanimously
  8. Contentment with Whatever One Gets
  9. Guilelessness, Uprightness and Straightforwardness

As per some scholars the list of Navadha Bhakti is:
  1. Sravana (hearing the name, episodes, etc., of Vishnu)
  2. Kirtana (singing His episodes, etc, of Vishnu)
  3. Smarana (remembering the name of Vishnu)
  4. Pada Sevanam (rendering Him service)
  5. Archana (worshiping Him)
  6. Vandana (paying obeisance to Him)
  7. Arpana (dedicating all actions to Him0
  8. Sakhya (confiding in Him as a friend)
  9. Atma Nivedana (dedicating one's body and belonging to His service and care.
The first three emphasize the name of Bhagavan and evoke faith in Him. The next three refer to the manifested form of Bhagavan. The last three refer to the inner aspiration, the bhakta.