--> Skip to main content

Ashta Siddhi – Eight Yogic Powers as per Hinduism

Ashta Siddhi is the eight Siddhis or yogic powers as per Hinduism. They are:

  1. Anima – becoming very minute like an atom.
  2. Laghima – becoming very light in weight like cotton
  3. Mahima – becoming large in size like a mountain or an ocean.
  4. Prapti – touching faraway object with one’s hand.
  5. Prakamya – the power to behave according to one’s desire.
  6. Vasihstva – controlling all beings and things in the world.
  7. Ishitva – Controlling births and deaths of beings and things.
  8. Vasishta – the power of making all beings and things behave according to one’s will.
These siddhis are mentioned in Vyasa Bhashya on Yogasutra of Patanjali (III:45). To attain them one has to bring the five elements (earth, water, fire, air and space) under control through intense practice.

Laghima Siddhi