--> Skip to main content

Arumugan – Why Muruga is known as Arumuga?

Arumugan is one among the numerous names of Muruga. He is known as Arumuga, or the one with six faces, because when Goddess Parvati joined him he had six faces and twelve hands.

Lord Muruga, also known as Skanda, Subrahamaniya and Kartik, was born as six different babies to Lord Shiva after he awoke from the deep meditation after Goddess Sati’s death. Six Krittika stars looked after the six babies.

When Goddess Parvati found the six babies, she hugged them, and they became one. He then came to be known as Arumugan.

Significance of the six faces
One face removes ignorance and spiritual darkness engulfing the world.
One face showers boons on devotees who follow dharma.
One face watches the pujas and offerings and blesses those devotees offering it with a pure mind.
One face helps those in search of self realization and investigating the truth of Pranavam or Om.
One face destroys the enemies and those how practice adharma.
One face looks lovingly at his consorts.