Skip to main content

Seven Forms of Tandava Performed by Shiva – Seven types of Tandava

Seven Forms of Tandava performed by Shiva are:
  1. Kalika Tandavam – dance of creation
  2. Sandhya Tandavam – dance of preservation of cosmos
  3. Shankara Tandavam – dance of destruction
  4. Tripura Tandavam – dance of concealment
  5. Vurtha Tandavam or Anugraha Thandavam – the dance through which beings experience the world. The grace of Shiva with which He reveals to the self its true nature.
  6. Ananda Tandava – He carries out all the above said five functions – Nataraja Form
  7. Bhujangatirasam – Named after the serpent which Shiva wears.
Seven types of Tandava

Another famous Tandava performed by Shiva is the Urdhva Tandava, when he competed with Goddess Parvati.

Read More From Hindu Blog