--> Skip to main content

Diwali In Andhra Pradesh And Telangana

Diwali in Andhra Pradesh is spread over five days and begins on Ashwin Krishna Paksha or Bahula Trayodashi as per traditional Hindu Lunar calendar followed in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Diwali in Andhra Pradesh in 2024 is from October 29 to November 3.

On the first day, prayers are offered to Ganesha, Kubera and Goddess Lakshmi. The day is known as the Dhanteras day. Worship is also offered to Kuber Yantra. Yama Deep Daan or special lights are offered to Yama in the evening. This is to prevent any untimely death in the family.

Second day is observed as Naraka Chaturdasi. Images of Narakasura are taken around the village and towns. It is then burned in an appropriate place.

The third day is known as Kaumudi Utsav. Special delicacies are made from urad dal on the day. It is believed that Goddess Lakshmi resides on Til oil on the day. Til or Sesame oil is rubbed on the body. Lamps are light in homes and in important places. Special Lakshmi puja is also conducted on the day.

The fourth day is observed as Bali Padyami. Puja is offered to cows, ox and other livestocks. This is known as Gauramma Puja.

On the fifth day, special Lakshmi Puja is performed by those doing business. Sons, daughters, sons-in-law and daughters-in-law are invited to home and are given clothes and food. The day is known as Yama Dwitiya and Diwele Panduga.