--> Skip to main content

Concept Of Time In Hinduism – Trivia

The concept of time in Hinduism is based on the endless cycle of existence. One cycle of creation and dissolution consists of four yugas – namely Krta or Satya, Treta, Dwapara and Kali. We are in the Kali Yuga.

Satya Yuga is 1,728,000 human years. Satya Yuga is the golden age. Its duration is 4,800 years of the Gods. A year of the gods is equal to 360 years of human beings.

Duration of Treta Yuga is 1,269,000 human years. Its duration is 3250 years of the Gods.

The Duration of Dwapara Yuga is 864,000 human years. Its duration is 2400 years of the Gods.

The Duration of Kali Yuga is 432,000 human years. Its duration is 1200 years of the Gods.

Four yugas combine to form a Mahayuga – Each Mahayuga lasts for a total of 12000 Divine years or 4,320,000 human years.

A Manvantara is said to consist of a total of just over 71 Mahayugas.

There are 14 Manvantaras – this is equal to 1000 Mahayugas or 4,320,000,000 human years. It is the measure of a Kalpa or day of Brahma.

At the end of each kalpa there is the dissolution of the entire three worlds.

There after follows the night of Brahma – of equal duration to one day of Brahma –, which is in turn followed by a further new day of Brahma, consisting again of 14 Manvantaras.

The life of a Brahma extends over a period of 100 such years whereof the measure of a single day is equal to a period of 14 Manvantaras.

All this length of time mentioned above is nothing but a flicker of the eyelids of Vishnu.

At the end of the life of a Brahma, there arises another Brahma.

The endless cycle of existence continues.