--> Skip to main content

Rahu Kala in Hindu Astrology – Importance of Rahu Kalam in Hindu Religion

Rahu is one of the planets or Navgrahas in Hindu religion. Rahu Kala is considered as the most inauspicious period in a day. It is avoided for all activities. As per Hindu astrology, eight planets control the twelve hours of a day that is from sunrise to sunset. Rahu is one of them. The 90 minutes controlled by Rahu is known as Rahu Kalam.

Rahu and Ketu are the two points on the Moon’s orbit as per Hindu astrology. Moon’s northern node is called Rahu. The navgraha is also known as the Dragon’s head.

There are two methods by which Rahu Kalam is followed one is the fixed period. Other is based on sunrise, depending on sunrise the Rahu Kalam period may be short or long.

The following is the fixed Rahu Kala period:

Sunday – 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM
Monday – 7:30 PM to 9:00 PM
Tuesday – 3:00 PM to 4:30 PM
Wednesday – 12:00 PM to 1:30 PM
Thursday – 1:30 PM to 3:00 PM
Friday – 10:30 PM to 12:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 PM to 10:30 PM

The second half of Rahukala is considered to less inauspicious than the first half.