--> Skip to main content

Ashtamangala or Eight Auspicious symbols in Hinduism

The term ‘Mangala’ means auspicious and ‘Ashta’ means eight auspicious – thus Ashtamangala refers to eight auspicious symbols. These eight symbols are associated with good fortune in Hinduism.

The eight symbols are –
  1. Parasol – A handheld collapsible sunshade.
  2. A pair of golden fish.
  3. A treasure vase.
  4. Lotus
  5. Right turning conch
  6. Srivatsa (endless knot)
  7. Banner of victory
  8. Wheel of Dharma.
These symbols were associated with royalty and were present during the coronation of a king.