Skip to main content

Which Goddess is worshipped during Navratri?

Navratri is dedicated to various manifestations of Mother Goddess Shakti. But which Goddess is worshipped during Navratri? During Navratri Goddess Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati are worshipped. Nine forms of Durga known as Navadurga are worshipped on nine days in most regions in India.

The nine forms are Goddess Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhadhatri.

In some regions, the first three days of Navratri are dedicated to Goddess Durga, next three to Lakshmi and the last three to Saraswati.

Goddess Saraswati is worshipped mainly in western and southern parts of India during Navrati.

The main theme of Navratri in all regions is the annihilation of demon Mahishasura by Goddess Durga. Various forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped on the eighth and ninth day of Navratri. This includes the ferocious forms of Goddess Chamunda and Goddess Kali.

On the ninth day small children are worshipped in a ritual known as Kanya Puja.

In South India, the ninth day and the tenth day (dasam) is also dedicated to Goddess Saraswati. Children are initiated into the world of knowledge on the Dasami day.