--> Skip to main content

Pancha Maha Yagna in Hinduism

Pancha Maha Yagna consists of the five yagnas to be performed by Grahastas or householders. People in other three stages of life – Brahmacharya, Vanaprastha and Sanyasa – depend on the fruitful completion of Pancha Maha Yagna by Grihastha. The five yagnas are Brahmayagna, Pitruyagna, Devayagna, Bhutayagnam and Manushayagna.

The Pancha Maha Yagna is also known by the names of Ahutam, Hutam, Prahutam, Brahmahutam and Prashitam.

Chanting and teaching the Vedas is Brahma Yagna.

Providing food and water to dead ancestors or Pitrus is Pitru Yagna.

Propitiating Devas through homa and yajna is Deva Yagnam

Providing bali food to crows and food to other animals is Bhuta Yagna.

Providing food to human beings is Manusha Yagna.

Those householders not performing these five yagna is equal to dead and will not attain moksha.

Several Hindu scriptures indicate that a householder who performs the Pancha Maha Yagna is more pious than a Sanyasi.

It is also believed that proper rains fall on earth due to the Pancha Maha Yagna performed by Grihastas.