--> Skip to main content

Chariot of Subhadra - Description – Size – How to Identify the Chariot of Subhadra in Puri Rath Yatra?

The chariot of Subhadra, the sister of Lord Jagannath, can be identified by the red and black color topped canopy. The chariot of Subhadra in the Puri Rath Yatra car festival is always placed between the chariots Jagannath and Balabhadra. The dark color symbolically represents Mother Goddess Shakti.

Sudarshana is Kept on the Chariot of Subhadra

Sudarshana, the divine discus and weapon of Lord Jagannath, rides along with Subhadra in her chariot. There is a belief that Jagannath asks Sudarshana to be present on the chariot before Subhadra arrives to make sure that the chariot is secured. The divine discus is also given the duty of protecting and guarding, Subhadra, the little sister of Jagannath and Balabhadra.

The Ratha of Subhadra is known as Devadalana or Darpadalana and it has 12 wheels. It is the smallest among the three chariots. The chariot is also referred as Padmadhwaja.

Darpa Dalana means trampler of pride.

Padma Dhvaja means one with a lotus pennant.

The charioteer is Arjuna, Subhadra's husband and friend of Krishna (Jagannath).

The horses pulling the chariot are known as Rochika, Mochika, Jita and Aparajita.

The doorkeepers are Ganga and Yamuna.

The flag hoisted on the chariot is known as Nadambika and the rope used to pull is named Swarnachuda. The flag is protected by Tripurasundari.

The deities guarding the top of the chariot are Bhaktisamedha, Sumedha and Chamarahasta.

The brow is Brahmavarta.

The Goddesses of the chariot are Sridevi and Bhudevi.

The bija mantra of the chariot is Hrim and the guardian goddess of the chariot is Ugrachandi.

The chariot also has nine other female deities - Bhadrakali, Chamunda, Harachandika, Mangala, Katyayini, Varahi, Shyamakali, Jayadurga and Vimala.

The rishis traveling on the chariot are Bhrigu, Suprabha, Vajra, Shrungi, Dhruva and Ulluka.

The charana is Mahakala, the yaksha is Haha and the Gandharva is Kinjwalika.

The deities protecting the interiors of the chariot are Shaktishapta, Jaya, Bijaya, Ghora, Aghora, Sookshma and Gyan.

The pitchers are known as Amruta, Jiva and Kaya.

The weapon is known as Padma Kalharaka.

The chariot is made using 711 pieces of wood. (593 as per some scholars and books)

The deck area is 31 feet and six inches across and front to back.

The throne area is 33 square feet.

The height of the chariot is 44 feet and six inches.

The are a total of twelve wheels of six feet. The wheel are eight inches in diameter.

You may also like to read