--> Skip to main content

Why Is The Sixteenth Chapter Of Bhagavad Gita Known As Devasura Sampad Vibhaga Yoga?

The sixteenth chapter of the Bhagavad Gita is known as "Devasura Sampad Vibhaga Yoga" because it deals with the distinction between the divine (deva) and the demoniac (asura) qualities or traits in human beings.

The Sanskrit term "Devasura Sampad Vibhaga Yoga" can be broken down as follows:

  • "Deva" means divine or godly.
  • "Asura" means demonic or ungodly.
  • "Sampad" means wealth or qualities.
  • "Vibhaga" means division or classification.
  • "Yoga" in this context means a path or practice of understanding.

Therefore, "Devasura Sampad Vibhaga Yoga" translates to "The Yoga of the Division between the Divine and the Demoniacal Properties."

In this chapter, Krishna explains to Arjuna the characteristics of people with divine (daivi sampad) qualities, such as fearlessness, purity of heart, self-control, and non-violence. These qualities lead to spiritual liberation and a harmonious life. On the other hand, demoniac (asuri sampad) qualities include hypocrisy, arrogance, conceit, anger, harshness, and ignorance, leading to bondage and suffering.

Krishna's discourse in this chapter serves to guide individuals on recognizing these traits within themselves and striving to cultivate the divine qualities while avoiding the demoniac ones. Thus, this chapter emphasizes the importance of developing virtuous traits and provides insight into the spiritual and moral framework that leads to a righteous and fulfilling life.

The chapter is essentially a practical guide on distinguishing and embracing positive, divine attributes while rejecting negative, demoniac ones, making it a significant teaching in the path of self-improvement and spiritual growth.