--> Skip to main content

Kali Yuga in Hinduism – Characteristics Of The Fourth Yuga – Era – In Hindu Reckoning of Time

Kali Yuga in Hinduism is the current era. We are living in Kali Yuga. It is the fourth yuga or era in the Hindu reckoning of time. The chief characteristics of the age are the deterioration of Dharma and spread of evil and greed.

Hindu Reckoning of Time
  1. Krta Yuga (also known as Satya Yuga)
  2. Treta Yuga
  3. Dwapara Yuga
  4. Kali Yuga
Kali Yuga is also known as Tisya or Tishya. It consists of 1200 divine years as per Hindu scriptures. This is equal to 432000 human years.

Characteristics Of The Fourth Yuga in Hinduism

Virtue will have only on feet in Kali Yuga. This is the symbolic representation of the decline in physical and moral stands with the passage of each era.

Giving gifts is the chief activity of the Kali Yuga. Various gifts are given to achieve selfish needs. This we see today in the form of bribe and favors.

There will be no moral values.

Constant remembrance of the names of Gods and Goddesses is the only means to get over the evils of Kali Yuga. This is stated in Bhagavad Purana (XII, 3.46 – 52)

The era will be characterized by tamas (ignorance, dullness and sloth).

There will be no proper study of scriptures by people. Due to this reason, unscrupulous people will take advantage of people in the name of religion and spirituality.

Lifespan of people will become very short.

All kinds of vices will prevail.

Kali Yuga will end when Bhagavan Srihari Vishnu will appear on earth in the form of Kalki Avatar. He will put an end to all adharma and next cycle of creation will begin after millions of years of rain and flood.