--> Skip to main content

Ashtadasha Vidyas In Hinduism – Eighteen Sciences

The Ashtadasha Vidyas, or the eighteen sciences in Hinduism, represent a comprehensive framework of knowledge encompassing various fields essential for understanding dharma (righteousness), duties, and responsibilities. These eighteen sciences serve as the foundation for holistic learning and spiritual growth within Hindu tradition. Here's a detailed explanation of each of these vidyas:

Four Vedas: The Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda, and Atharvaveda are the foundational texts of Hinduism, containing hymns, rituals, and philosophical insights.

Six Vedangas: These are auxiliary disciplines that support the understanding and interpretation of the Vedas:

Shiksha (Phonetics): Concerned with the proper pronunciation and recitation of Vedic mantras.

Vyakarana (Grammar): Focuses on the grammatical structure of the Sanskrit language, essential for interpreting the scriptures accurately.

Chandas (Prosody): Deals with the meter and poetic structure of Vedic verses.

Nirukta (Etymology): A study of the origins and meanings of Vedic words.

Jyotisha (Astronomy/Astrology): Includes both astronomical observations and astrological predictions based on celestial phenomena.

Kalpa (Rituals): Provides guidelines for conducting Vedic rituals and ceremonies.

Puranas: These are ancient texts containing mythological narratives, cosmology, and moral teachings.

Mimamsa: A philosophical system focused on the interpretation of Vedic rituals and their significance.

Nyaya: The Nyaya school of philosophy deals with logic, reasoning, and epistemology.

Dharmashastras: These texts contain guidelines for righteous conduct, social ethics, and legal principles.

Four Upavedas:

  • Ayurveda: The science of traditional Indian medicine, encompassing health, wellness, and herbal remedies.
  • Dhanur Veda: The science of warfare, including martial arts, strategy, and military tactics.
  • Gandharva Veda: Concerned with music, dance, and aesthetics.
  • Arthashastra: Originally focused on economics, governance, and statecraft, though sometimes replaced by Sthapatya Veda and Shilpa Shastra, which deal with architecture and sculpture.

These eighteen sciences collectively form the backbone of Hindu knowledge systems, providing guidance for individuals in various aspects of life, from spiritual practice to worldly affairs. They reflect the rich diversity and interdisciplinary nature of Hindu thought and culture, serving as invaluable resources for both personal development and societal well-being.