Skip to main content


Showing posts from April 3, 2009

Anang Trayodashi – Anang Vrat

Anang Trayodashi, or Anang Vrat is an observance dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is observed on the 13th day of the Shukla Paksha of Chaitra Month in traditional calendar followed in Maharashtra and Gujarat. Anang Trayodashi 2017 date is April 9. In North India, the Anang Trayodashi is observed during on 13th day of Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of moon) in Margashirsh Month it is on December 11, 2016.

Anang Trayodashi Vrat is observed for a year – on all the 13th day of the Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of the moon) in a month. It is believed that observing Anang Vrat will help in attaining prosperity, health, wealth and good fortune.The importance of Anang Trayodashi is mentioned in the Garuda Purana.

Apart from Lord Shiva, Kamadev and Rati are also worshipped on the day. The observance includes offering flowers and fruits to Lord Shiva and the prescribed 16-step Hindu puja and worship.

Hanuman Jayanti Vrat – Upvas

Hanuman Jayanti Vrat, also referred as Hanuman Jayanthi Upvaas, is dedicated to Lord Hanuman and is performed on His birthday and also a day before it in some regions. Hanuman Jayanti is observed on the Chaitra Purnima day (full moon day in the Hindu month of Chaitra). In 2013, the date of Hanuman Jayanti Vrat is on April 24 in Maharashtra and other western parts of India.

Hanuman Jayanti day is on April 24.

Hanuman Jayanti upvaas is a full day fast. Those who opt for partial fasting eat fruits or take a single meal. People read Hanuman Chalisa or chant Ram Nam on the day. Most devotees visit Hanuman Temple or temples dedicated to Lord Ram and spend the day in the temple.

You may also like to read How to observe Hanuman Jayanti fasting?

Swami Sivananda On How to Get Rid Of Desires

Develop Viveka or the power of discrimination. Brahman is real. The world is unreal. There is no vasana or desire in Brahman. The desire is in the mind. Make Vichara (introspection). All desires will dwindle into nothing. Mark the doshas in the objects. The objects are Asat (Non real), Jada (Sentient), Dukha (Sorrowful) and impure. Develop burning longing for liberation. This strong desire for Self-realization will destroy other worldly desires. Control the senses also. Develop Vairagya or dispassion. Give up objects. This is Tyaga. All desires will melt away.Swami Sivananda

Latest Posts