Skip to main content


Hindu Festivals in May 2018 – Hindu Vrat – Fasting – Rituals in May 2018


Dates of important festivals and fasting associated with Hinduism in May 2018 – based on major Hindu calendars and Panchang used in India. The festivals, Vrats and ritual days are based on Indian Standard Time (IST).

Hindu Vrat – Fasting - Festivals May 2018

Tuesday, May 1 – Nija Jyeshta month begins in North India

Thursday, May 3 – Sankashti Chaturthi

Friday, May 4 – Agni Nakshatram begins

Monday, May 7 – Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti

Tuesday, May 8 – Kalashtami


Thursday, May 10 – Hanuman Jayanti in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Friday, May 11 – Ekadasi Fasting

Sunday, May 13 – Pradosh Fasting
Sunday, May 13 – Vat Savitri Vrat begins

Tuesday, May 15 – Vat Savitri Vrat
Tuesday, May 15 – Amavasya
Tuesday, May 15 – Shani Amavas
Tuesday, May 15 - Vaigasi Masam begins in Tamil Calendar followed in Tamil Nadu.
Tuesday, May 15 - Edava Masam begins in Malayalam Calendar in Kerala

Wednesday, May 16 – Adhik Jyeshta month begins
Wednesday, May 16 – Jyeshta month begins in Bengali calendar.

Sunday, May 20 – Muruga Sashti Fasting

Tuesday, May 22 – Durga Ashtami

Thursday, May 24 – Ganga Dasara

Friday, May 25 – Ekadasi Fasting

Saturday, May 26– Pradosh Vrat

Monday, May 28 – Agni Nakshatram Ends
Monday, May 28 – Vaikasi Visagam in Tamil Culture

Tuesday, May 29 – Purnima – Full moon day