Skip to main content

Diwali Festival Information - A complete Guide along with Diwali Calendar 2017 With Puja Dates and Time

The most popular Hindu festival Diwali literally means ‘an array of lamps.’ Here is a complete guide to the most famous festival in Hindu religion. Diwali 2017 date is October 19 as per Hindu Calendar - India Standard Time. It will be observed on October 18 in South India. The festival signifies the victory of good over evil – where the good and the evil are present in us. Lakshmi Puja 2017 date is October 19. Diwali 2017 dates and calendar is given below –

Diwali 2017 Dates – Calendar

  • Vasubaras – October 16, 2017
  • Govatsa Dwadasi – October 16
  • Vagh Baras – October 16
  • Guru Dwadasi – October 16, 2017
Day 1
  • Dhantrayodasi – October 17, 2017
  • Dhanteras – October 17
  • Yam Deep Daan – October 17
  • Dhanvantri Jayanti – October 17
  • Tihar Festival begins in Nepal - October 17
  • Jalapoorna Trayodasi - October 17
Day 2
  • Deepavali Festival in South India – October 18, 2017
  • Naraka Chaturdashi – October 18
  • Abhayanga Snan – October 18
  • Kali Chaudas – October 18
  • Roop Chaturdasi – October 18
  • Hanuman Puja – October 18
  • Kali Puja in Bengal – October 18
  • Bhuta Chaturdashi – October 18
  • Neer Thumba Habba – October 18
  • Choti Diwali – October 18
  • Kukur Tihar in Nepal – October 18

Day 3 - The most important date

  • Diwali in North – West – East – October 19, 2017
  • Abhayanga Snan – October 19
  • Lakshmi Puja – October 19
  • Kamala Mahavidya Jayanti – October 19
  • Kuber Puja – October 19
  • Sharda Puja – October 19
  • Kedar Gauri Vrat – October 19
  • Chopda Pujan – October 19
Day 4
  • Diwali Padwa – October 20
  • Govardhan Puja – October 20
  • Annakut – October 20
  • Bali Pratipada or Bali Padyami – October 20
  • Gujarati New Year or Nutan Varsh – October 20
Day 5
  • Bhai Dooj – October 21, 2017
  • Yama Dwitiya - October 21
  • Chitragupta Puja – October 21

Some Important Information on Diwali

  1. Diwali lamps signify the removal of spiritual darkness and the ushering in of knowledge capable of realizing Brahman (That) – the Supreme Being present in all animate and inanimate.
  2. There are several reasons for celebrating Diwali. The most important one is the commemoration of the return of Lord Ram to Ayodhya after 14 years of exile.
  3. Lakshmi Puja during Diwali is observed as it is believed that Goddess Lakshmi emerged from the ocean on this day during the ‘samudra manthan’ (churning of ocean) by demons and gods as mentioned in the Puranas. So for the business people, the new business year begins on Diwali.
  4. In South India, Diwali is the day in which Lord Krishna killed the demon Narakasura.
  5. In Gujarat, the day after Diwali is observed as Annakut – New Year’s Day.
  6. Dhanteras is celebrated two days before Diwali honors Dhanvantari, the physician of the gods. He is believed to have emerged from the ocean on this day during samudra manthan.
  7. In Orissa, the lights are lit to show the path to the spirits of ancestors returning to heaven.
  8. In Bengal, Diwali is celebrated as Kali Puja. It is believed that Goddess Kali killed the demon Raktavija on this day.

All You Need to Know About Diwali
Abhyanga Snan – Ritual bathing during Diwali
Yama Tarpanam – For dead Ancestors
Naraka Chaturdasi – Deepavali celebrations in South India
Kali Puja – Worship of Goddess Kali in Bengal
Sharda Puja – Dedicated to Goddess Saraswati
Lakshmi Puja – Worship of Goddess Lakshmi
Kamala Mahavidya Jayanti – Worship of Goddess Kamala – Tantric worship of Goddess Lakshmi
Tihar Festival – Diwali in Nepal
Chopda Puja – Muhurat Puja in Gujarat and Rajasthan
Vasubaras – Dedicated to Cow in Maharashtra
Vagh Barash – Dedicated to Cow and other domesticated animals in Gujarat
Govatsa Dwadasi – Dedicated to Cow in Gujarat
Neer Thumba Habba – Cleaning of vessel and ritual bath in Karnataka
Bhuta Chaturdashi – Dedicated to Bhutas or goblins
Choti Diwali – The day before Diwali
Govardhan Puja – Commemoration of Sri Krishna lifting the Govardhan Mountain
Annakut – Offering of food to Deities
Vikram Smavat 2073 - Gujarati New Year
Bali Pratipada / Bali Padyami – Celebrating the return and rule of King Bali
Vishwakarma Puja – Dedicated to Vishwakarma the divine architect of the universe
Yama Dwitiya – dedicated to Yama
Chopada Puja – Opening of new account books for some communities
Chitragupta Puja – Rituals dedicated to Chitragupta – one who keeps accounts of good and bad deeds on earth.

Diwali Puja Timings
Diwali Pushya Nakshatra Date and Time
Dhanteras Puja Time
Lakshmi Puja Time
Various Diwali Puja Timings

Did You Know

  • In addition to Hindus, Sikhs celebrate Diwali in commemoration of the release of the Sixth Guru, Hargobind, from captivity by the Mughal Emperor Jehangir.
  • Jains recognize Diwali as the day Lord Mahavira, the last of the Tirthankaras, attained Nirvana, or liberation, after his death in 527 BCE.
  • The only major state in India that does not observe Diwali is Kerala.
  • Bhagya Lakshmi is worshipped during Diwali by gambling. Playing of cards and gambling are seen as an attempt to know the luck during the coming year.
  • Indians spend over Rs 25,000 crore (Rs 250 billion) on Diwali shopping.
  • The Diwali cracker industry is worth more than 5000 crore (Rupees 50 billion)