Skip to main content


Showing posts from July 6, 2014

Eight Direction Prayer Dedicated To Surya – the Sun God

Eight directions or ashta dikh is of great importance in Hindu religion. When prayers are offered to Surya, a devotee stands facing eight directions in clockwise. A mantra is chanted for each direction. The mantra was taught by Sri Krishna to Yudhishtira. The eight direction prayer dedicated to Surya is given below in Hindi.

You seek too much information and not enough transformation – Shirdi Sai Baba

Before you speak ask yourself: Is it kind, is it necessary, it is true, does it improve upon the silence?
If you are wealthy, be humble. Plants bend when they bear fruit.
You seek too much information and not enough transformation.
Blessed is he who has become one with me.
I give my devotees whatever they ask, until they ask for what I want to give.
If you succeed in cheating someone, don't think he is a fool. Rather, realize that he trusted you much more than you deserved. Shirdi Sai Baba

Today’s Hindu Calendar – July 6, 2014 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Sunday, July 6, 2014 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Navami Tithi or the tenth day during the waxing phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Shukla Paksha Ashtami Tithior the eighth day during the waxing phase of moon till 1:02 AM on July 6. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Navami Tithior the ninth day during the waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Chitra or Chithira or Chithirai Nakshatra till 10:28 PM. Then onward it is Swathi or Chothi Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kanya Rashi till 9:59 AM. Then onward it is Tula Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – Bhadali Navami.
Kali Yuga Year – 5116
Vikram Samvant 2071 – Ashada Shukla Paksha Navami Tithi or the ninth day during the waxing phase of moon in Ashada month in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.
Jayanama Samvatsa…