Skip to main content

Jaya Nama Samvatsara begins on March 31, 2014 – Jayanama Year 1936

Jaya Nama Samvatsara is the name of the Hindu lunar year which is from March 31, 2014 to March 20, 2015. Jayanama is followed in calendars and Panchangams used in Maharashtra, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. In Marathi, Kannada and Telugu Calendars the Shalivahan Saka Year 1936 begins on March 31, 2014.

Note - the current year in Tamil Nadu which begins on Chithirai 1 (April 14, 2014) is also known as Jaya.

The first day of a particular year is referred as Ugadi orYugadi in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. It is referred as Gudi Padwa in Maharashtra.

Jaya Nama is the Sanskrit name of the current year. There are sixty years in a cycle. The present is Jaya Nama and is followed by Manmatha Nama. The previous year was Vijayanama.

Each year has lot of specialties and these are mentioned in the respective Panchangas. The predictions – whether Jaya Nama is good or bad – is mentioned during the Panchanga Sravana which takes place on the Ugadi day.