Skip to main content

Vijaya Nama Samvatsara begins on April 11, 2013 – Vijayanama Year 1935

Vijaya Nama Samvatsara is the name of the Hindu lunar year which is from April 11, 2013 to March 30, 2014. Vijayanama is followed in calendars and Panchangams used in Maharashtra, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. In Marathi, Kannada and Telugu Calendars the Shalivahan Saka Year 1935 begins on April 11, 2013.

Note - the current year in Tamil Nadu which begins on Chithirai 1 (April 14, 2013) is also known as Vijaya.

Vijaya Nama is the Sanskrit name of the current year. There are sixty years in a cycle. The present is Vijay Nama and is followed by Jaya Nama. The previous year was Nandhana.

Each year has lot of specialties and these are mentioned in the respective Panchangas. The predictions – whether Vijaya Nama is good or bad – is mentioned during the Panchanga Sravana which takes place on the Ugadi day.

Latest Posts