Skip to main content

Saka Year 1931 – the Indian National Calendar 2009

Indian National Calendar is known as the Saka Calendar and is largely ignored by most Indians and also by the government. The Hindu Saka calendar begins with the Saka Era in 78 A D. This calendar is mostly ignored by Hindus as they follow regional lunar or solar calendars. In 2009, the date of the New Year according to the official Indian Calendar is March 22. It is also the first day of the Chaitra month in Saka Calendar.

The Saka calendar is followed in the Bali Island of Indonesia but the New Year here begins with Nyepi, which falls on the Amavas day.

The Saka calendar that is followed today by the Government of India was adopted in 1957.

Today, the Saka Calendar is confined to a corner in government gazette notifications and is mentioned by the All India Radio in its daily morning broadcast.

In North India, the traditional Hindu New Year begins on the Chaitra Shukla Pratipada, the day after the Amavasi in Chaitra Month (March – April) and the calendar is known as Vikram Samvat. In Gujarat, the New Year begins the day after Diwali (September – October). Other states too have their own versions of regional calendars.