Skip to main content

Hindu Vikram Year 2064 Begins on November 10 2007

Today, November 10, 2007 is the Hindu Vikram New Year and is the first day of the financial New Year in North India and New Year day in Gujarat. Gujarati New Year is celebrated on the day after Diwali. Vikram Year 2064 begins today and is also sometimes referred as Vikram Samvatsar and Hindu New Year in the respective regions.

Vikram Era was started in 57 BC by Emperor Vikramaditya as a commemoration of his victory upon the Shaks. This victory took place at Ujjain, one among the four places associated with Kumbh Mela. This Hindu calendar is also known as Vikram Samvant and begins with the Month Kartik.

In North India, Diwali is held on the final day of the Vikram Calendar and the next day marks the beginning of the New Year and is also referred as ‘Annakut’ or Nutan Varsh in Gujarat.

The Hindu calendar popularly used in North India and by the Government of India and in several other parts of India is the Saka calendar and it begins with Chaitra (March – April). The Saka Era began in 78 AD and in Saka calendar this is the year 1929. In the Saka calendar also there is a Kartik Month (October – November).