Shravan Month 2012 in Hindi North Indian Calendar – Sawan Mahina 2012

Shravan Month is the fifth month in a traditional Hindu lunar calendar followed in North India and is a holy month dedicated to Hindu God Shiva. Shravan Month 2012 is from July 4 to August 2. This calendar is followed mainly in Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Haryana, Bihar and Chhattisgarh and other North Indian states. A month in these regions is calculated from the day after Purnima or full moon to the next Purnima. The year in the Hindi Calendar is Saka 2069.

The Mondays or Somwar in Shravan month is dedicated to worship of Shiva. People make it a point to visit Shiva temples on Sawan Mondays – The Mondays in the month are on July 9, July 16, July 23 and August 30.

Chaturthi Vrat or Sankashti Ganesh Chaturti in Shravan Month 2012 is on July 6. The Chandrodaya or Moonrise time as per North Indian calendars is 9:09 PM.

Shravan Month 2012 Krishna and Shukla Paksha
Shravan Month Krishna Paksha (waning phase of moon) is from July 4 to July 19.
Shravan Month Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of moon) is from July 20 to August 2.
Shravan Mahina Ekadasi Vrat in North India

Kamika Ekadasi – July 14, 2012
Pavitra Ekadasi – July 29, 2012
Shravan Mahina Pradosh Vrat in North India
Som Pradosh – July 16 (Monday)
Som Pradosh – July 30 (Monday)

Shravan Amavasi in Hindi Panchang in North India
Amavasya is on July 19, 2012.
The Amavasi begins on July 18, 2012 at 9:08 AM and ends at 09:53 AM on July 19, 2012. 

Shravan Purnima
 Purnima is on August 2, 2012. The Purnima Vrat is marked on August 1.
The Purnima begins at 10:58 AM on August 1 and ends at 8:57 AM on August 2.

Festivals and auspicious days in Shravan Mahina 2012
Hariyali Amavasya – July 19
Hariyali Teej – July 22
Kalki Jayanti – July 23
Nag Panchami – July 23
Tulsi Das Jayanti – July 26
Raksha Bandan – August 2

Shravan Month is also the first month in the Chatur Maas - four holy months.

Please note that Shravan month in calendars followed in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh begins on July 20, 2012 and ends on August 17, 2012.