Chandra Grahan July 7 Time – Lunar Eclipse July 2009 Timings

There is a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, Chandra Grahan, on July 7, 2009. It is not visible to the naked eye and the timing is only of academic interest. The partial lunar eclipse takes place in Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, North America, United States, Canada, Caribbean Islands and South America. The eclipse is from 08:37 (UT) to 10:39 (UT) UT = universal time. It is not visible in India, Asia and Europe.

The traditional Hindu calendars and Panchangs have skipped this eclipse as it has no effect.

Here are the timings of the lunar eclipse around the world on July 7, 2009 as per local timings:

Australia

Melbourne – 18:38 to 20:39

Brisbane – 18:38 to 20:39

Perth – 16:38 to 18:39

Sydney – 18:38 to 20:39

New Zealand

Auckland – 20:38 to 22:39

Christchurch – 20:38 to 22:39

Wellington – 20:38 to 22:39

Canada

Ottawa – 03:38 to 05:39

Toronto – 03:38 to 05:39

Vancouver – 00:38 to 02:39

United States

Chicago – 02:38 to 04:39

Los Angeles – 00:38 to 02:39

New York – 03:38 to 05:39

San Francisco – 00:38 to 02:39

Map of Eclipse from NASA

Please note that the timing in India is not available as it is not visible in India, Asia and European countries. The eclipse is from 08:37 (UT) to 10:39 (UT). NASA indicates that Universal Time is equivalent to Greenwich Mean Time or GMT. So for India add +5:30 to the UT time. Therefore the corresponding time of grahan in India is from 14:07 hrs to 16:09 hrs

You may also like to read

Triple Eclipse in July – August 2009